Cooking To Stay Happy

Moved to a spacious new apartment that has a huge balcony with not-so-good view, but i enjoy the after-office evening tea in the balcony every weekdays. There is something very comforting about a cozy bean bag chair, hot tea, biscuit, and your favorite YouTube channel.

My flatmates are IT girls (no pun intended) and they come quite late from office, therefore, I get all the time to practice singing and playing the guitar. Also, by the time they come home, my hunger takes the shape of that of a dragon inside my stomach. So, I cook dinner before they come home. And I am getting really good at cooking (Indian cuisine). Which makes me think of starting a YouTube channel or an Instagram account on the everyday easy to cook recipes.

To be honest, cooking actually helps a lot with my depression. My mind gets diverted the moment I start chopping the veggies and start planning what else to put in to make it healthy and tasty. By the time I finish cooking and taste the food to check whether it tastes good, my mood is lifted up. Probably  the joy of being able to recreate my mom’s recipes or experimenting on a new recipe helps to secrete “feel-good” hormones.

I have also been reading a lot about nutrition and their benefits on human health. It’s a wonder how our food choices decide how well we will be physically and mentally.

Anyway, hope you are doing well and thank you for reading my post 🙂 means a lot to me.

TC!

Leave a Reply

