Home Alone

I walked the serpentine lane alone. I walked slower than usual. The trees and the buildings passed by, guys of all sort checked me out top to bottom as I walked past them, few cars lazily drove by but all I could hear was one voice.

Is it not true that we come in this world alone and we die alone? Then why are we so dependent on each other? Why do we need our parents, why do we need that one special person to spend the rest of our life? Why is love so important for me?

If you love someone, set him/her free. If he/she comes back, he/she is your true love. If not, it was never meant to happen. My father told me once.

Is it really about loving someone and setting someone else free? Or is it about setting yourself free? Free from not being wanted, free from not being loved, free from not being accepted, free from being a negative influence, free from being haunted by memories, free from expecting one phone call, free from secrets, free from apologies, free from confiding in each other, free from future plans, free from trying to be perfect… free from  me.

Every time I make up my mind to take the road less taken, I stop and see one path full of roses and thorns and the other quiet, calm, smooth but very lonely.

If I take the road less taken, I will set the caged bird free.

 

 

Leave a Reply

