Puppy Rescue

I have always wanted a puppy. I would adopt a stray later.

Yesterday, we went out to have dinner and while we were about to leave, we were stunned by a sharp cry. We looked towards the busy road and saw a puppy lying on the road. I was terrified as well as curious. Two guys ran to rescue the puppy from getting run over. The puppy wouldn’t let the guys touch him. He was crying out loud and shaking terribly.

I ran towards him. I couldn’t stop myself. I had to do something about it.

When I was in high school, one day while coming back from school, I saw a few people trying to rescue a kitten. It had fallen into a big drain that ran by the road. It cried frantically and needed someone to go down there and bring it up. I could hear the men, saying, “it cannot be rescued, it will die.” I was a teenage girl and did not have the motivation/ guts to go forward and rescue the kitten. I walked past the scene. Till this day, I feel bad about it.

So I acted when I had the chance.

Though the pup cried and wouldn’t let me touch him, I picked him up and put him down on the footpath. At first the guys thought his legs were injured. But soon we discovered that he was unhurt. He probably got saved just seconds before being run over. After few minutes the pup stopped crying. I guess he was in shock, which is why he shook terribly. The guy put a handkerchief around him to comfort him. Kudos to the two guys present there, who ran first to rescue the pup.

There was one more guy who stood right behind me. He stood there and let me do what I needed/wanted to.

Sometimes, we need to act when we have to, directly or indirectly.

2 thoughts on “Puppy Rescue

Leave a Reply

